Blackberry and apple jam

image

So 4kg of blackberry and apple jam from 8 hours of collecting, preparing and bottling. In this modern world a complete waste of time – I could have worked for the minimum wage and bought far more weight of jam from the shops!

But picking blackberries on the open terraces in the evening sun and collecting the first windfall apples was not arduous work. I enjoyed the walk to and from these places collecting mushrooms and trying the first hazelnuts. I also came across a good stand of oregano along a new track which I use to flavour so many of the basic dishes I prepare here along with the basil I have grown near to the house.

I have recently worked for some money to cover the basic costs of provisions over the next year and know I prefer the chance to walk and gather my food on these hills.

This is a fortunate place and I am fortunate to have the opportunity to discover its riches largely undisturbed.

I would like to open up this simple life to anyone interested in making a change in their lives, who feels meditation in this beautiful natural landscape would benefit their progress on the way. I will begin building secondary accommodation next year and invite applications from those interested in helping me in this project: thenfzc at gmail dot com.

The Hermitage, Chapel Peak.

About Jamie Nicol

Living in the forested hills of Catalonia, overlooking the Mediterranean Sea. Zen teacher, recovering philosopher, small-scale natural farmer. Writing just what comes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

