A Small Selection of Santoka’s Haiku

image

If there are mountains, I look at the mountains;
On rainy days I listen to the rain.
Spring, summer, autumn, winter.
Tomorrow too will be good.
Tonight too is good.

This straight road,
Full of loneliness.

Going deeper–
And still deeper.
The green mountains.

I have no home;
Autumn deepens.

Well, which way should I go?
The wind blows.

After washing
I dry myself
On a nearby rock.

The small Buddha statue:
Rained on for the sake of human beings.

Aimlessly, buoyantly,
Drifting here and there,
Tasting the pure water.

Winter rain–
People have been so kind
My eyes fill with tears.

Peace for the heart:
Life in the mountains.

All day I said nothing–
The sound of waves.

To the mountains,
To the sky:
The Heart Sutra.

In happiness
Or sadness,
Weeds grow and grow.

I’ve made it this far;
I drink the pure water and go.

A single bird comes,
But does not sing.

Just as it is–
It rains, I get wet, I walk.

About Jamie Nicol

Living in the forested hills of Catalonia, overlooking the Mediterranean Sea. Zen teacher, recovering philosopher, small-scale natural farmer. Writing just what comes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

